art, Cambrian Mountains, watercolours

The Cambrian Mountains

This was painted from a photo taken by Heather when tackling Cader Idris in mid-Wales. When I paint landscapes like this I invariably start with the sky and bring it down over where the distance will be. Sometimes this creates cloud shadows (often more pronounced than here). I then tend to work backwards from the foreground towards the distance getting bluer as I go, which pushes the distance further back. I often use the sharp tip of an old credit card (which I cut into smaller pieces) to scrape through strong paint to create the scruffy vegetation in the foreground. In this painting, I also gave the sky a second wash to create cloud effects. All in all it took about one hour. The faster and more free the better.

The Cambrian Mountains
Standard

3 thoughts on “The Cambrian Mountains

Leave a comment